Love Island’s Chris Hughes opens up about what sparked his anxiety – Cosmopolitan.com

http://ift.tt/2vvTsRQ

Chris Hughes has always been open and honest about his battle with anxiety.

The Love Island star spoke about it on his Instagram last year, saying that hypnotherapy had helped him manage it.

Advertisement – Continue Reading Below

And during his time on the ITV2 show, the 24 year old was praised for showing his emotions and openly crying on national television. Signpost Counselling tweeted: “They say men younger & older don’t feel safe to show their emotions … shout out to Chris #LoveIsland for being himself and bearing all.”

And now he’s spoken about his mental health issues again; revealing what sparked it.

Speaking on Loose Women, Chris said: “It actually triggered after a heavy night out… the next day I felt horrific.

“I was going to work but I was getting anxious about being anxious. I was in a nine-to-five job and every time it approached five o’clock I didn’t want to go home. I’d rather have stayed there – it gave me things to think about.

Advertisement – Continue Reading Below

“It was absolutely suffocating, I would do anything, like go out in the evening and drive my car around to have something to do, to keep myself occupied.

“But it wasn’t until I spoke to my mum, I [explained] that it was proper, that it was draining me.”

He admitted he still has the odd attack of anxiety now and then.

“I had it when I was playing cricket, I just broke down in the middle of the playing field and that was shit. It was last season, last year.”

Hopefully Chris speaking out about his issues will encourage other men to realise it’s perfectly normal to suffer with anxiety, and get the help they need.

Follow Anna on Twitter.

August 3, 2017 at 05:27AM

Leave a Reply

