It’s a living: hypnotherapist tells all – StarNewsOnline.com

http://ift.tt/2uCobbU

Solomon provides a different perspective through hypnotherapy.

Editor’s Note: It’s a Living is a monthly StarNews series that profiles workers in Southeastern North Carolina. If you’ve got an idea for a job or worker to feature, email Elizabeth.Montgomery@StarNewsOnline.com.

Amir Ben-Solomon

Job title: Hypnotherapist at Solomon Wellness & Hypnosis Center

What does hypnosis do?

What it does is allows a person to tap into their subconscious mind, which is the strongest part of your mind. Bypassing the critical factor of the conscious mind and gaining access to the subconscious mind allows us to make transformations in behavior patterns that people can’t do consciously. So hypnosis is just a process for many things to take place.

It’s not what happens, it’s the way you react to it. I can’t change a person’s past, but I can change your perspective of the past. And if you change a person’s perspective of their past, perspective of their job, perspective of their marriage and see it from a different perspective, it can alleviate a lot of unnecessary pain.

What do people come to hypnotherapy for?

Many things, people come in for smoking, weight loss, just about any psychosomatic disorder. I can’t mend a broken arm but I can mend a broken heart, anything that’s psychosomatic. Psycho the mind, somatic the body. It’s very useful because we have the ability to rectify 99 percent of our illnesses because most of them are psychosomatic — we don’t use needles, drugs or surgery. 

How long does the process take?

It depends on the person and the issue. Some sessions are two hours long, some are one hour, some are 45 minutes depending on what the issue is and the type of person we are dealing with, everyone is different. 

What happens in a session? 

We get the conscious mind out of the way, allow the subconscious mind to take center stage and when that happens we do the direct work, therapy. You are relaxed, and more alert than you are now when you’re in hypnosis. You hear every word I say, you’re in control, you’re never out of control.  

Most people don’t even know they have a subconscious mind, they think they are consciously in control of everything — that’s why nothing can change because they keep their hand on the steering wheel. All they have to do is let go and allow the subconscious mind to take control, tap into themselves and realize the power that you have within. You have all the equipment inside of you.

How long have you been doing hypnotherapy here in Wilmington?

About 15 years. I had a practice in New York for many years and coming back here was one of the best moves I made because I love it here, I was born here.  

I guess the better question is, how long have you been doing hypnotherapy?

About 40 years.

Why did you decide to become a hypnotherapist? 

I used to be overweight, I used to drink, I used to smoke, I used to use drugs. I was a total mess and I was seeking some type of alternative to the conventional alternatives which was usually medication. On the campus of Michigan State I met the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, the founder of Transcendental Meditation, and I became a TM instructor and from that they referred me to a hypnotherapist once I confessed that I had issues. I had two sessions and I haven’t touched drugs or anything since.

I saw how powerful it was. Most people have been victimized by preconceived misconceptions about hypnosis. Most people have only been exposed to stage hypnosis that’s someone quacking like a duck and then it’s very difficult to take it seriously when you see people making fools of themselves and don’t really understand what it’s about.

Reporter Elizabeth Montgomery can be reached at 910-343-2066 or Elizabeth.Montgomery@StarNewsOnline.com.

August 13, 2017 at 09:24AM

Leave a Reply

